About $7.50B to RTX — ten records under the former name sit alongside six under the current one, one company appearing as two recipients (F135 propulsion, Lot 15)
A definitive contract administered by the Navy, described as lot 15 of a propulsion system. The recipient is recorded under the current company name while the records this site holds also carry contracts under the former name, so a change of name appears as two recipients. Obligations are about $7,498.61 million.
Contract key facts
- RecipientRTX (Raytheon)
- Contract value$7,498,605,068 (≈$7.5B)
- BranchNavy
- Awarding agencyDepartment of Defense
- Awarding sub-agencyDepartment of the Navy
- Award typeDEFINITIVE CONTRACT
- Period of performance2020-03-23 〜 2030-10-15
- Contract ID (PIID)N0001920C0011
Contract scope (original)
LOT 15 FMS-1 F135 CTOL PROP SYSTEM
Key points
- The recipient is recorded under the current name while ten records carry the former name of the same company, sixteen in all.
- The record does not state that the two names denote one company; a change of name appears as two recipients.
- Across the 207 Department of Defense contracts this site holds as of 2026-09-01 there are 50 recipient names and 74 identifiers.
- Not one case carries multiple spellings under a single identifier, so a correspondence table across both is needed.
- The description layers five elements in abbreviation: lot number, sales marker, engine, take-off mode and propulsion system.
- The 207 records held as of 2026-09-01 carry 10 under the company former name and 6 under the current one, as separate recipients.
1A change of name splits the record in two
The recipient field carries the current company name. Among the 207 Department of Defense contracts this site holds as of 2026-09-01, ten records carry the former name of the same company, sixteen together with the six under the current one.
The record does not state that the two names denote one company. The name as of the date of contract stays in place, so a change of name appears as two recipients. Grouped by name, this company is counted twice.
2Resolution completes on neither name nor identifier
Across the 207 Department of Defense contracts this site holds as of 2026-09-01 there are 50 distinct recipient names and 74 identifiers. Names are fewer because one name spans several identifiers.
Conversely, not one case carries multiple spellings under a single identifier. Grouping by name therefore flattens differences in identifier, while grouping by identifier misses sameness of name. Seeing a company whole needs a correspondence table across both rather than either alone.
3The description layers abbreviation on abbreviation
The description reads LOT 15 FMS-1 F135 CTOL PROP SYSTEM: a lot number, a marker for foreign military sales, an engine designation, a take-off and landing mode, and a propulsion system, five elements in abbreviation.
The same engine differs in specification by take-off and landing mode. Lot numbers mark the production round, with contracts cut per number. A reader has to expand each abbreviation before knowing what the contract is. The record is written for someone already familiar with the field.
Why it matters
Mergers and name changes persist in public data as two separate recipients. Following a company award total over time means joining across the change, or the picture misleads. Without a resolution table, company-level aggregation from public data stays an approximation.
FAQ
Why does one company appear under two names?
Should counting go by name or identifier?
What do the abbreviations mean?
Sources (primary)
This article is an independent organization based on the U.S. official spending data below. Verify the exact, latest details with the official source.
- USAspending (award details)
- Contract ID (PIID):N0001920C0011